

June 28, 2024

Honorable Chair Libby Garvey Arlington County Board Ellen M. Bozman Government Center 2100 Clarendon Blvd, Suite 300 Arlington, VA 22201

Re: Weed Ordinance Enforcement

Dear Chair Garvey:

We appreciate the action taken by the County Board in adopting amendments to the County "weed" ordinance

Commission Members

Phil Klingelhofer, Chair John Carey Caroline Haynes David Howell Kate Donohue Stephen Sockwell Josh Handler Mikaila Milton Noreen Hannigan Bill Browning Bob Benson Neal Hunter Elizabeth Gearin

(Chapter 10, Article II, Condition of Property Ordinance,) dated September 23, 2023. The Forestry and Natural Resources Commission seeks clarification regarding how the updated ordinance is being enforced. We received a report of some confusing direction to a resident who was instructed to "apply" for a native plant exemption, but the process for doing so is unclear and there is no information on the County website about how that process works.

We request clarification on how this ordinance is being implemented. Adding some Frequently Asked Questions to the County's webpage on native plant landscaping would help to clarify both the process, the benefits and what is and is not acceptable. Likewise, adding information about "Cues to Care" would provide additional clarification. Given that there are numerous County policies that encourage native landscaping, for stormwater benefits as well as to attain biodiversity and biophilic objectives, we seek assurances that native landscaping on private property is being appropriately supported, and not discouraged, and that inspectors and the supporting staff in the Department of Parks and Recreation have the resources they need to implement these updates to the ordinance.

Thank you for this opportunity to share our views.

Sincerely,

Mal Klight

Phil Klingelhofer, Chair Forestry and Natural Resources Commission

Cc: Members, Arlington County Board Mark Schwartz, Arlington County Manager Jane Rudolph, Director, Department of Parks and Recreation Samia Byrd, Director, Department of Community Planning, Housing and Development