

HOUSING COMMISSION KELLEN MACBETH, CHAIR

One Courthouse Plaza 2100 Clarendon Blvd., Suite 700 Arlington, VA 22201 TEL 703.228.3760 FAX 703.228.3834 www.arlingtonva.us

January 12, 2024

Hon. Libby Garvey, Chair Arlington County Board 2100 Clarendon Boulevard, Suite 300 Arlington, VA 22201

RE: Source of Funds Protection

Dear Ms. Garvey:

Protecting Arlington residents from housing discrimination is an important responsibility of county government. The Virginia General Assembly added Source of Funds as a new protected class to the Virginia Fair Housing Law in 2020. However, Arlington has yet to amend its Human Rights Ordinance to be consistent with the Virginia Fair Housing Law. It is critically important that Arlington's Office of Human Rights begin enforcing the Source of Funds protected class to ensure residents with Housing Choice Vouchers, Housing Grants, and other subsidized income are not illegally denied housing.

The Housing Commission, advocacy groups, and residents have been asking Arlington to adopt this critical housing protection for 3 years. Arlington's Fair Housing Plan adopted by the County Board in 2023 explicitly calls for the county to add Source of Funds as a protected class. Now is the time to act to make Arlington's Human Rights Ordinance consistent with state law to ensure that the county enforces the same housing protections as the commonwealth. We urge the County Board not to delay any further in enacting this change to the Human Rights Ordinance.

The Commission vote on the motion was 9-0 to recommend amending the Human Rights Ordinance to add Source of Funds protection. Commissioners Blake, Linick, MacBeth, McGilvray, Montgomery, Norris, Rubalcava, Serfis, and Wenger voted in favor.

Thank you for your consideration and support of fair housing in Arlington.

Sincerely,

Kellen MacBeth

Heller M. Marseller

Chair

Cc: Mark Schwartz, County Manager
Gurjit Chima, Assistant County Manager for the Office of Human Rights
Anne Venezia, Housing Division Director, CPHD
Joel Franklin, Housing Division, CPHD
David Timm, Chair, Tenant-Landlord Commission